The prompt from Poetry Thursday was really difficult for me. I almost opted not to do it, but decided if I had the time I would give it a try.  Especially because two of the poems I read I have always liked and never new were villanelles. They were Sylvia Plath:  “Mad Girl’s Love Song” and Dylan Thomas: “Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night”.  I never realized they were villanelles, never knowing what one was. As for the Iambic pentameter part, I am not sure I did that correctly.  I tried, but again, it was difficult.

Since Jessica spoke about obsessions, I wrote about my latest obsession. What life is like to work full-time with  two young children. This coupled with my patients who all have a few kids in their country of origin, while trying to survive here and maybe with another child or two.  So here you have it:

Looking out the Kitchen Window

A working mother lifts her newborn
saddled by her daily chores
why must her life be so torn?

she works to earn the right to be forlorn
alone at home she cries till dawn
a working mother lifts her newborn

smiling children laugh  in the morn
guarded and grey she prepares for their day
why must her life be so torn?

gazing out her window withdrawn
the children eat and ready for bed
a working mother lifts her newborn

ever watchful  of her neighbors scorn
the children sleep into the night
a working mother lifts her newborn
why must her life be so torn?

